The Times, They Are A-Changin’–Gay Folks On The Tube

gay_marriage

This is something that has been happening gradually – but it does my heart good to see it.

Earlier than 1979, there were ‘hot topics’ that were considered unsuitable for the average viewer. Things like racism, interracial marriage, abortion homosexuality, these were verboten. That is, until Norman Lear actually produced a show called All In The Family, that dared to touch on these polarizing subjects. True enough, there were shows prior to that, but AITF was really the ground-breaker for many people, due to the harsh contrast of Archie Bunker and his ‘lovable’ xenophobic tendencies, as well as its prime-time slot.

And, 31 years later, I’m happy to say, there’s an ample supply of television shows that treat it as if it is an actual part of the culture, instead of some back-alley filthy unnatural occurrence.

Now we are for the most part readers. But (and it’s sad to say), the Glass Teat (as Harlan Ellison likes to phrase it) is a somewhat accurate barometer of how folks think these days.

And while my esteemed colleague Mr. Garton has stated (accurately, I might add) that Gay Is The New Witch, there is hope. Yes, even the gag-inducing items like ‘Reality Shows’ (which violate the Observer-expectancy effect most outrageously), there are numerous LGBT shows even among the dregs. What does this mean, exactly? It likely means less gay bashers, less gay suicides, and yes, less credence in that quirky religious crap that was programmed into us from early on.

Anecdotally: in my twenties, I was always and steadily uncomfortable with the gay lifestyle. This is not to say I was violently revolted by it – I fended off those advances quite politely, never driven to the extremes of other people who were obviously xenophobically enraged (or terribly insecure about their sexuality). But I can say (shamefacedly) that I walked out on the film Cruising (or was it Making Love? I keep getting flashed of Harry Hamlin from that memory) because of my discomfort with it. Before the film even got to the sweaty parts.

Now, some decades later (and a LOT more education and insight under my belt), I don’t even blink an eye. Strangely though, among that list I linked to, one of my all time favorites, Torchwood, isn’t listed among them. What I enjoyed most, was the fact that the characters would sleep with people they were attracted to. There wasn’t any angst, and the only time there were moral struggles was when Gwen had a boyfriend AND was fooling around with Owen…but I digress.

And it is this gradual acceptance in our culture that is going to render stone-age groups like the AFA (who threaten to boycott harmless institutions like Home Depot), suggest stupidities like ‘have less gay students’, and even holler about ‘outlawing homosexual behavior’) thoroughly impotent.

There are better days a-comin’ – but it’s a long road, and it’ll take time.

So keep fighting the good fight. Because, let’s face it, there are no secular arguments against gay marriage, or even against homosexuality. It’s all a Christian legacy, and we’re better off rid of these foolish, dangerous anachronisms.

Till the next post, then.

This entry was posted in And now for something completely different, Education, Psychology, Religion, Sexuality, Skepticism. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Times, They Are A-Changin’–Gay Folks On The Tube

  1. I was raised in the south- strictly southern Baptist. Out here in California, I ran a “funerary art gallery” in San Francisco(1990′s) The
    Sisters of Perpetual Indulgence were my first intro to homosexuality….I realized I was definitely not in Kansas anymore. I ended up working with them to overturn the funeral industry’s AIDS handling fees they were charging for “touching” any body that had succumbed to this disease. This involved standing in a casket on the steps of the Capital surrounded by men dressed like nuns. It was a blast working with them, and they taught me a great deal. I was immediately tagged as a “lesbian” by the Industry and people were forever asking what my sexual orientation was. My response was that unless you are interested in having sex with me, it really doesn’t matter and is none of your business.

    You are correct, times are a changing, but it never seems fast enough.

  2. KA says:

    Wow, that’s a wonderful, powerful story Karen. Thanks for sharing.

    My response was that unless you are interested in having sex with me, it really doesn’t matter and is none of your business.

    So…I assume none of them were interested? ;)

  3. Tony D says:

    Yes, it is going to take a long time and in some areas of the US it will take some sort of magic or a catastrophe to change their deeply embedded belief system.

    I sometimes feel as though the more we push for rationality the more irrational they become.

  4. Robster says:

    What I can’t figure is why gay & lesbian people would wan’t to subscribe to the nonsense that is the basis of all hatred and bigotry directed against gay & lesbian people? Lesbians’ epecially, as they ‘suffer’ from a second disadvantage, that is being a female. Religions are marketers and creators of a whole range of hatred, but yet a few gay & lesbian people choose to follow the nonsense and fail to see the contradiction.

  5. Troglodyke says:

    What I can’t figure is why gay & lesbian people would wan’t to subscribe to the nonsense that is the basis of all hatred and bigotry directed against gay & lesbian people? Lesbians’ epecially, as they ‘suffer’ from a second disadvantage, that is being a female. Religions are marketers and creators of a whole range of hatred, but yet a few gay & lesbian people choose to follow the nonsense and fail to see the contradiction.

    Amen! I have friends who are gay and call themselves Xtian. It’s so odd to me that they would take comfort in the arms of the oppressors. Of course, they’ll tell you that their religion is one of peace and love. They don’t subscribe to all the hate stuff; Jesus wasn’t about that; blah, blah, blah.

    I think it’s crap. If you water Xtianity down enough, it stops being Xtianity! And while I certainly prefer the watered-down version to the bible-thumping stupidity, it’s all bunk. And the ones who water it down are now being disingenuous.

    Either embrace the dogma fully, or abandon it. If you embrace it, you agree with it. If you disagree with it, ABANDON it. There are many secular ways to fulfill your human need for social contact and being a part of things that matter, and none of them have to spread lies and BS to work.

    Sometimes I get so frustrated that so many of my fellow gays are so weak and wimpy. No matter what you think, you don’t need religion.

Comments are closed.